Go to main content

An open house for all

Preliminary planning of the New Gasteig by Munich architectural firm HENN has been completed. So what are the key features of the future Gasteig? Here are the most significant changes that will be introduced with the renovation and redesign.

 

In the course of redevelopment, parts of the brick façade will be replaced with glass. Visible from afar, the “glazed bridge” will connect all of the existing parts of the building, bringing the various Gasteig institutes even closer together. It signals that the Gasteig is inclusive and accessible and, as a vibrant meeting place, it forms a bridge to the city. The entire arts centre will have disabled access and be interwoven and transparent. At a central, easily accessible information desk, staff will be at hand to answer visitors’ questions.

Design for the New Gasteig by the architectural firm HENN
Copyright: Henn

Take part and hang around

The Gasteig wants Munich’s citizens to make the arts centre their own. As a hub of culture and education, the New Gasteig wants to help people release their potential. There will be plenty of seating, inviting you to linger and make use of the free WiFi. Or you can show your stuff in one of the activity spaces. For those with something to say, there will also be a Speakers’ Corner on the corner of Rosenheimer Straße. A wide arena staircase invites visitors to sit down, take a break and listen.

 

Cultural education will play an even bigger role in Europe’s largest arts centre. To facilitate this goal, the redesigned building will house a 900 square metre space on street level with arenas, labs and adjacent childcare facilities. The new spaces will offer room for interdisciplinary cooperation and experimentation.

 

Childcare facilities will give parents peace of mind while they enjoy a concert or a performance, peruse the city library’s stock or study at the MVHS adult education centre, safe in the knowledge that their kids are being looked after by competent and loving carers and enjoying music, stories or making theatre themselves.

 

Spectators surround an artistic performance on the bright action area of the New Gasteig
Copyright: Henn
Design for the New Gasteig by the architectural firm HENN
Copyright: Henn

Future-proof spaces for learning, rehearsing and studying

The classrooms of the University of Music and Performing Arts in the New Gasteig will be fit for the future, with a larger hall suitable for chamber music education and an orchestra rehearsal hall with plenty of space for large ensembles. The percussion rooms are clustered together to promote interaction between their users. To meet the increasing demand for audio and video recording facilities, there will be a new recording studio that is fully networked with adjacent rooms and features a separate recording room.

 

Munich is growing, and with it the need for adult education. The teaching spaces of the Münchner Volkshochschule adult education centre will be larger, more attractive and with direct daylight. Although information and registration are possible online, personal advice remains indispensable. That’s why the consulting spaces are being completely redesigned. The new forum on the first floor offers event space for up to 300 people. Visible from outside the building, this new Gasteig auditorium will provide a platform eminently suited for debate.

Numerous guests listen to an event of the MVHS in the Forum of the New Gasteig
Copyright: Henn

The library of tomorrow

The Munich City Library in the Gasteig will be an even more inviting place to meet. The public library of tomorrow is more than just a lending station; it is a place that entices to learn and work, to read, to discuss, to participate. Large windows create a friendly, open atmosphere while spacious staircases offer flexible lounging options. There will be areas where work can be done in peace and quiet and others that promote social contact. Thanks to the library’s modern Open Library technology, books and other library items can be borrowed around the clock. The plans also include a rooftop reading café with a magnificent view of the city.

People sitting in the light-flooded room of the Munich City Library
Copyright: Henn

Top-notch event spaces

The illuminated hall of the Philharmonie is fully occupied.
Copyright: Henn

The Philharmonic Hall will have impressive acoustics thanks to steeper tiers near the stage for an up-close concert experience, a large ceiling reflector and a clever arrangement of tiers. The acoustic concept was designed by Yasuhisa Toyota. Numerous LED arrays on the ceiling create a magical atmosphere, forming a cloud of light above the audience.

 

With its folding parquet floor, the Carl Orff Hall will be a multifunctional venue. Up to 800-strong audiences will experience top-class international contemporary performances, experimental musical theatre, films, choir concerts, pop, jazz and chamber music here. The room has excellent acoustics, which the Munich Chamber Orchestra will appreciate. The Carl Orff Hall will be the new home venue of the MKO, which will also have its rehearsal space and its administrative headquarters at the New Gasteig.

Play video —  We need your consent

I agree to the data transmission between my browser and Youtube. Further information.

MKO In The Neighbourhood

In April 2022, the Munich Chamber Orchestra visited the office of HENN architects and inspected the design for the New Gasteig. Four string players from the MKO perform Benjamin Britten’s “Burlesque”.

Panoramic view over Munich

Literally a high point of the remodelled Gasteig will be a new viewpoint on the roof of the Philharmonic Hall. High above the Isar river, it will offer an impressive view of the city. Open to all visitors, it will also host a small rooftop restaurant.

People sit in the restaurant on the new roof terrace and look out over the whole of Munich
Copyright: Henn

The next steps towards the New Gasteig

The preliminary plans were completed on schedule at the end of June 2020 and remain within the budget of 450 million euros set by the Munich City Council. Following the green light from the City Council in autumn 2020, the project entered the design development stage.

“A lot of ideas have gone into this project. All those involved are pleased with the result, which takes into account cultural and educational needs for decades to come. Now we want to infect as many people in Munich as possible with our enthusiasm!”

Gasteig Managing Director Max Wagner
What people say about the New Gasteig Gasteig fans have their say

Zum Hauptinhalt springen

Ein offenes Haus für alle

Die Vorplanung für den Neuen Gasteig durch das Münchner Architekturbüro Henn ist abgeschlossen. Was macht den Gasteig der Zukunft aus? Das sind die zentralen Elemente der Sanierungspläne.

 

Im Rahmen der Sanierungspläne werden Teile der Backsteinfassade durch Glasflächen ersetzt. Die von weitem sichtbare gläserne „Kulturbrücke“ verbindet alle Gebäudeteile des Gasteig und sorgt für eine noch stärkere Vernetzung der Gasteig-Institute. Signalisiert wird: Der Gasteig ist ein offenes Haus für alle und schlägt als pulsierender Begegnungsort eine Brücke in die Stadt. Das Kulturzentrum soll barrierefrei zugänglich, miteinander verwoben und durchschaubar sein. An einer zentralen, leicht zugänglichen Infotheke wird Besucher*innen bei allen Fragen weitergeholfen.

Entwurf für den Neuen Gasteig vom Architekturbüro HENN
Copyright: Henn

Mitmachen und Verweilen

Die Bürger*innen sollen sich ihren Gasteig zu eigen machen. Der Neue Gasteig möchte als Kultur- und Bildungszentrum das Potential aller Menschen zur Entfaltung bringen. Auf Sitzstufen kann man verweilen und das kostenlose W-Lan nutzen. Auf Aktionsflächen darf man selbst tätig werden. In Planung ist auch eine Speakers’ Corner an der Ecke zur Rosenheimer Straße, die sich alle erobern können. Zum Zuhören und Niederlassen lädt eine breite Arenatreppe jeden ein – zur angenehmen Pause am gachen Steig.

 

Kulturvermittlung wird künftig eine noch stärkere Rolle in Europas größtem Kulturzentrum spielen. Zentral im Erdgeschoss sind dafür 900 Quadratmeter als attraktive Anlaufstelle mit Arenen, Labs und angrenzender Kinderbetreuung geplant. Die entstehenden Flächen bieten Raum für interdisziplinäre Kooperation und Experimente.

 

Die Kinderbetreuung wird es Eltern ermöglichen, das Kulturangebot des Gasteig entspannter wahrzunehmen. Während Mama und Papa im Konzert oder einer Vorstellung sitzen, in der Stadtbibliothek schmökern oder in der MVHS lernen, tauchen die Kinder kompetent und liebevoll betreut in die Gasteig-Welt ein, sammeln Klang- und Hörerlebnisse und machen selbst Theater.

Zuschauer umringen auf der hellen Aktionsfläche des Neuen Gasteig eine künstlerische Darbietung
Copyright: Henn
Entwurf für den Neuen Gasteig vom Architekturbüro HENN
Copyright: Henn

Zukunftsfähige Räume fürs Lernen, Proben und Studieren

Die Unterrichtsräume der Hochschule für Musik und Theater werden im Neuen Gasteig zukunftsfähig: Ein größerer Saal unterstützt die Kammermusikausbildung, der Orchesterprobensaal erweitert die Probenmöglichkeiten. Die Schlagzeugräume werden als Cluster zusammengelegt und fördern das musikalische Miteinander. Ein neues Tonstudio mit separatem Aufnahmeraum und Vernetzung zu angrenzenden Räumen kommt dem steigenden Anspruch an Audio- und Videoaufnahmen nach.

 

Die Stadt wächst, und mit ihr der Bedarf an Erwachsenenbildung. Die Unterrichtsflächen der Münchner Volkshochschule werden attraktiv erweitert und bekommen in Zukunft direktes Tageslicht. Parallel zur Online-Information und -Anmeldung bleibt die persönliche Beratung unverzichtbar. Deshalb werden die Beratungsflächen vollkommen neu gestaltet. Für Veranstaltungen bietet das neue Forum im 1. Stock bis zu 300 Zuhörer*innen Platz. Von außen für alle einsehbar ist dieser neue Gasteig-Saal die geeignete Plattform für aktuelle Debatten.

Zahlreiche Gäste lauschen einer Veranstaltung der MVHS im Forum des Neuen Gasteig
Copyright: Henn

Die Bibliothek von morgen

Die Münchner Stadtbibliothek im Gasteig wird noch attraktiver als Ort der Begegnung gestaltet. Die öffentliche Bibliothek von morgen ist mehr als eine Medien-Entleih-Station. Sie ist ein Ort, der zum Lernen und Arbeiten, zum Lesen, Diskutieren und zum Mitgestalten einlädt. Große Fensterflächen schaffen eine offene und freundliche Atmosphäre und weitläufige Treppenlandschaften bieten flexible Aufenthaltsmöglichkeiten. Bereiche, in denen in Ruhe gearbeitet werden kann, und solche, die sozialen Kontakt fördern, wechseln sich ab. Dank moderner Open-Library-Technologie können Bücher und Medien rund um die Uhr ausgeliehen werden. Und außerdem geplant: Auf dem Dach soll ein Lesecafé mit großartiger Sicht auf die Stadt entstehen.

Menschen sitzen im lichtdurchfluteten Raum der Münchner Stadtbibliothek
Copyright: Henn

Top-Veranstaltungsräume

Der beleuchtete Saal der Philharmonie ist voll besetzt.
Copyright: Henn

Mehr Bühnennähe durch steilere Ränge, ein großer Deckenreflektor und eine ausgeklügelte Anordnung der Ränge sollen in der Philharmonie einen fantastischen Klang ermöglichen. Für die Akustik ist Yasuhisa Toyota verantwortlich. Für ein stimmungsvolles Erlebnis sorgen zudem zahlreiche LED-Stäbe an der Decke, die über dem Publikum eine Art Lichtwolke bilden.

 

Dank eines „Klapp-Parketts“ wird der Carl-Orff-Saal zum Multifunktionssaal. 800 Besucher*innen erleben hier künftig international hochkarätige Darbietungen zeitgenössischer darstellender Kunst, experimentelles Musiktheater, Filme, Chorkonzerte, Pop und Jazz oder Kammermusik. Der Raum verfügt über eine hohe Klangqualität, was das Münchener Kammerorchester besonders freuen wird. Denn der Carl-Orff-Saal wird eine neue Heimatspielstätte für das MKO, das im Neuen Gasteig nicht nur seinen Probenort, sondern auch seinen Verwaltungssitz bekommt.

Video abspielen -  Wir benötigen Ihre Zustimmung

Ich stimme der Datenübermittlung zwischen meinem Browser und Youtube zu. Mehr Informationen.

MKO In The Neighbourhood

Das Münchener Kammerorchester hat im April 2022 das Architekturbüro HENN und den Entwurf für den Neuen Gasteig besucht. Vier Streicher des MKO spielen Benjamin Brittens „Burlesque“.

Panorama-Blick über München

Ein buchstäblicher Höhepunkt der Sanierungspläne: Auf dem Dach der Philharmonie entsteht ein für alle offener, neuer Aussichtspunkt hoch über der Isar. Dort wird es auch ein Dachrestaurant geben – und vor allem einen einzigartigen Panoramablick über München

Menschen sitzen im Restaurant auf der neuen Dachterrasse und schauen über ganz München
Copyright: Henn

Die nächsten Schritte in Richtung Zukunft?

Die Ergebnisse der Vorplanung wurden termingerecht Ende Juni 2020 fertiggestellt und bleiben in dem vom Münchner Stadtrat vorgegebenen Kostenrahmen bis 450 Millionen Euro. Nachdem der Stadtrat im Herbst 2020 grünes Licht gab, stieg das Projekt in die Entwurfsplanung ein.

„Es sind ganz viele Ideen in dieses Projekt eingeflossen. Alle, die beteiligt waren, sind sehr glücklich über das Ergebnis, das Kultur und Bildung für viele Jahrzehnte vorausdenkt. Jetzt wollen wir mit unserem Enthusiamus möglichst viele Münchnerinnen und Münchner anstecken!“

Gasteig-Chef Max Wagner
Stimmen zum Neuen Gasteig Gasteig-Fans kommen zu Wort